If you would like to contact a governor or would like more information about their role please speak to the nursery office or email us on:

What do Governors do?

School governors provide strategic leadership and accountability in schools. Governors appoint the head teacher and deputy headteacher. It is governors who hold the main responsibility for finance in schools, and it is governors who work with the headteacher to make the tough decisions about balancing resources.

Each individual governor is a member of a governing board, which is established in law as a corporate body. Individual governors may not act independently of the rest of the governing board; decisions are the joint responsibility of the governing board.  

The role of the governing board is a strategic one, its key functions are to:

  • set the aims and objectives for the school
  • set the policies for achieving those aims and objectives
  • set the targets for achieving those aims and objectives
  • monitor and evaluate the progress the school is making towards achievement of its aims and objectives
  • be a source of challenge and support to the headteacher (a critical friend)

More details on what Governors do



Our Governing Body Team

Name Present Roles and Areas of Responsibility 
Mrs Jenny Auber Chair of Governing Body Team
Mrs Elizabeth Newton  Head teacher, Finance Committee, Health and safety Committee, Chairs/Steering committee.
Mrs Sarah Bailie Chair of Learning and Achievement Committee, Chair of Pay/Review/Personnel Committee, Chairs/Steering committee, Looked after children Governor and SEN Governor.
Mrs Ruth Coleman  Teacher, Learning and Achievement Committee
Mr Ross Beech Chair of Finance Committee, Children's Centre advisory board member, Chairs/Steering committee, Daycare director.
Mrs Jannice Simpson  Finance Committee non voting, Children's centre manager, Daycare Director.
Mrs Natasha Trinder  Associate Member, Daycare Manager, Learning and Achievement Committee, Health and safety Committee.
Mr Andrew Morrison Acting Chair of Governors, Chair of Health and safety Committee, Parent Governor, Link Governor, Chairs/Steering committee, Learning and Achievement Committee, Health and safety Committee, Finance Committee.
Mr Chris Stopher Learning and Achievement Committee, Safeguarding Governor
Mrs Diane Barrow Personnel Committee
Mrs Victoria Morris Learning and Achievement Committee
Mrs Vanessa Bally Governor Support (Non Voting) - Funding and Governance Co-ordinator


 Governors of the last 12 Months

Cerys Parker- resigned 30.9.15
James Sheppard - resigned 18.9.15
Martin Herbert - resigned
 Chris Stewart - 26.05.16
Sue Burton - 31.07.16
Sarah Saul - 19.09.16
Lorraine Hale 06.07.17
William Fullilove 06.07.17
Anita Phillips  09.11.17